• Infiniti Jewels

What are the different diamond gemstone types

Not all diamonds are created equal - in fact, only 1 in 5 diamonds are used as gemstones, while the rest are used for industrial use. Most buyers rely on the 4Cs of diamonds, which classifies diamonds based on its grading attributes rather than its scientific factors. However, those involved in the industry distinguish diamonds based on their physical and chemical properties, such as its colour tint and brilliance. For instance, the Gemological Institute of America (GIA), the authority in diamond certification, grades color alphabetically from D (totally colorless) to Z (heavily tinted).

Here are the different diamonds types based on different grading or classification:

Based on Characteristics

Most people in the market will classify diamonds based on the following variations:

  • Natural Diamonds: The standard type of diamond, usually colorless and sparks brightly in the light

  • Treated Diamonds: Natural diamond that have been artificially enhanced by color enhancement or inclusion filling; usually sells for a cheaper price

  • Natural Colored Diamond: Diamonds with various colour such as pink, yellow, purple, and blue

  • Synthetic Diamonds: Diamonds that are artificially created in the lab by human, usually identified by their cheaper price

Based on Gemstone Colour

Here are the different types of diamonds based on its colour:

  • White Diamonds: This type of diamond is colorless and is the most popular option for wedding and engagement jewellery.

  • Blue Diamonds: Natural blue diamonds are extremely rare, hence they have a significantly higher price tag. It comes in a wide range of shades, ranging from light sky blue to a rich, deep hue.

  • Pink Champagne Diamonds: These are champagne diamonds that have a secondary pink colour. It normally commands a higher price-per-carat compared to the champagne diamonds.

  • Yellow Diamonds: Yellow diamonds are available in a wide range of shades, ranging from rich canary colours to light yellow. It is the most common naturally occurring colour in a diamond gemstone.

  • Green Diamonds: The natural colour of a green diamond originates from the exposure to radioactivity and the atomic radiation that the stone endured over millions of years. It is considered as one of the extremely rare colours - in fact, a natural fancy green diamond may cost higher than other rare colours such as red, blue, orange, and violet.

Based on The 4Cs of Diamond

A rather well-known classification system, this one is based around the grading attributes of diamonds but they are useful as an easy way to quickly assess a diamond.

  • Colour: There is an official color-grading system from GIA, where diamonds are graded alphabetically as mentioned before. In general, tints that are visible to the naked eye will be graded as K or above. Some natural colours, including red, blue, and green, are extremely rare and expensive. Colours can also be treated and made artificially by manufacturers, which result in a lower-grade diamond, so be sure to ask questions before buying.

  • Clarity: Clarity of a diamond refers to the quantity and visibility of any flaws in the diamond. It will determine the “quality” of the diamond in question, as well as its consequent price. As provided by GIA, the classification system for clarity in the descending order are: Flawless (FL), Internally Flawless (IF), Very, Very Slightly Included (VVS1 and VVS2), Very Slightly Included (VS1 and VS2), Slightly Included (SI1 and SI2), as well as Included (I1, I2, and I3).

  • Carat: Most people are familiar with carat as a measurement of gemstones, including diamonds and pearls. With all else being equal, the larger the size of a diamond (i.e. higher carat), the greater its value. In short, carat can be understood as an indication purely of the weight/size of the diamond, rather than any indication of value.

  • Cut: This last classification refers to other visible features of the diamonds, such as its proportion, symmetry, finish, and polish. These features affect the way that light travels through the diamond through its facet arrangement, thus affecting its brightness or brilliance. The cuts of diamonds are subject to a grading system too. The grades of diamond cuts from high to low are: Excellent (EX), Very Good (VG), Good (G), Fair (F), and lastly Poor (P).

With the above guide, you should gain a much better understanding before choosing your perfect diamond to suit your liking. If you are looking to purchase diamond jewellery in Singapore, visit Infiniti Jewels for the best diamond Singapore. Whether you are after bridal diamond jewellery or a bespoke jewellery piece, contact us today so we can help you choose the best diamond.

© Infiniti Jewels. All rights reserved                   101 Cecil St, #15-07 Tong Eng Building, Singapore 069533

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle